City Of Zurich: Safe Truck VR

Safe Truck VR offers a unique way to experience the dangers of the blind spot of a truck driver. The user has to keep all mirrors in view, accelerate and stop the truck in time. The learning effect can be directly implemented in one’s own everyday traffic life as a cyclist or pedestrian. The app is not just explaining the blind spot but it is also letting the user truly experience it.

Challenge

In traffic there are various dangers for pedestrians and cyclists, especially at intersections when large vehicles like trucks turn. When the drivers are turning, there are areas outside the vehicle that are too difficult to see despite mirrors. Especially with trucks, there are many blind spots in front of and beside the vehicle. This is causing serious accidents on intersections at right turn situations involving trucks and bicycles.

Solution

Inspired to use the VR technology and engage the users, we created an experience with 3 scenarios where users can experience the blind spots for truck drivers at right turn situations.

We developed this application together with the City of Zurich so we can raise awareness of these dangerous situations and offered a simulation experience of a real street in Zurich. Safe Truck VR offers a unique way to experience the dangers of the blind spot of a truck driver. The user has to keep all mirrors in view, accelerate and stop the truck in time. The learning effect can be directly implemented in one’s own everyday traffic life as a cyclist or pedestrian. The app is not just explaining the blind spot but it is also letting the user truly experience it. There are also few different perspectives that the user can change: perspective in the truck cockpit, transparency so the blind spots can be understood well, simulation of the blind spot using virtual rear-view mirrors.

The app is part of the evolution of the Accident Prevention Program by City if Zurich that is taking the advance of VR technologies from 360° Videos to interactive 3D simulation.

How it works: When the user is putting the VR glasses and starts the experience, he/she can experience turning right from a truck driver’s perspective. They should watch out for bicycles, pedestrians, traffic lights, and lines.

Gamification part: The user should successfully pass all of the three scenarios, to successfully and safely reach the end. The most important part is that after finishing the experience, the user can understand why it is not so easy to make a turn with a truck and pay attention to everything on the road at the same time.

This is an outstanding solution from an educative point of view, mainly because the user interaction increases the learning effect and the level of concern.

The application and the devices can be easily used in schools, at leisure trade fairs, or at events.

Have a look

More stories

Stadt Zürich: Safe Truck VR

Safe Truck VR bietet eine einzigartige Möglichkeit, die Gefahren des toten Winkels eines Lastwagenfahrers zu erleben. Der Benutzer muss alle Spiegel im Blick behalten, beschleunigen und den Lastwagen rechtzeitig anhalten. Der Lerneffekt lässt sich direkt auf den eigenen Verkehrsalltag als Radfahrer oder Fußgänger übertragen. Die App erklärt den toten Winkel nicht nur, sondern lässt ihn auch real erleben.

Herausforderung

Im Straßenverkehr gibt es verschiedene Gefahren für Fußgänger und Radfahrer, besonders an Kreuzungen, wenn große Fahrzeuge wie Lastwagen abbiegen. Wenn die Fahrer abbiegen, gibt es Bereiche außerhalb des Fahrzeugs, die trotz Spiegeln nur schwer einsehbar sind. Vor allem bei Lkw gibt es viele tote Winkel vor und neben dem Fahrzeug. Dies führt zu schweren Unfällen an Kreuzungen in Rechtsabbiegesituationen, an denen Lkw und Fahrräder beteiligt sind.

Lösung

Um die VR-Technologie zu nutzen und die Nutzer einzubinden, haben wir ein Erlebnis mit drei Szenarien geschaffen, in denen die Nutzer die toten Winkel für Lkw-Fahrer beim Rechtsabbiegen erleben können

Wir haben diese Anwendung zusammen mit der Stadt Zürich entwickelt, um das Bewusstsein für diese gefährlichen Situationen zu schärfen und eine Simulation einer echten Straße in Zürich anzubieten. Safe Truck VR bietet eine einzigartige Möglichkeit, die Gefahren des toten Winkels eines Lastwagenfahrers zu erleben. Der Benutzer muss alle Spiegel im Blick behalten, beschleunigen und den Lastwagen rechtzeitig anhalten. Der Lerneffekt lässt sich direkt auf den eigenen Verkehrsalltag als Radfahrer oder Fußgänger übertragen. Die App erklärt den toten Winkel nicht nur, sondern lässt ihn den Nutzer auch wirklich erleben. Dazu gibt es verschiedene Perspektiven, die der Nutzer wechseln kann: Perspektive im Lkw-Cockpit, Transparenz, um den toten Winkel gut zu verstehen, Simulation des toten Winkels mit virtuellen Rückspiegeln.

Die App ist Teil der Entwicklung des Unfallverhütungsprogramms der Stadt Zürich, das den Fortschritt der VR-Technologien von 360°-Videos zu interaktiven 3D-Simulationen nutzt.

Wie es funktioniert: Wenn der Nutzer die VR-Brille aufsetzt und das Erlebnis startet, kann er das Rechtsabbiegen aus der Perspektive eines LKW-Fahrers erleben. Dabei muss er auf Fahrräder, Fußgänger, Ampeln und Linien achten.

Gamification-Teil: Der Benutzer sollte alle drei Szenarien erfolgreich durchlaufen, um erfolgreich und sicher das Ende zu erreichen. Das Wichtigste ist, dass der Benutzer nach Abschluss der Erfahrung verstehen kann, warum es nicht so einfach ist, mit einem Lkw abzubiegen und gleichzeitig auf alles auf der Straße zu achten.

Aus pädagogischer Sicht ist dies eine hervorragende Lösung, vor allem weil die Interaktion mit dem Benutzer den Lerneffekt und die Aufmerksamkeit erhöht.

Die Anwendung und die Geräte können problemlos in Schulen, auf Freizeitmessen oder bei Veranstaltungen eingesetzt werden.

Werfen Sie einen Blick darauf

Weitere Geschichten